harpcolumn

Which shoulder?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Which shoulder?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    mark-andersen
    Participant

OK…..Here’s the scenario. Years ago when I studied harp in Paris as a beginner I was

taught to play with the harp on my left shoulder. I’m not really sure why except that I was

indeed left handed. The teacher I had was also a left handed and left shouldered harpist. I

learned to find the levers “blind” quite easily and that’s never been a real problem. When

moving to pedal harp later I just kept the left shoulder position and therefore learned the

pedal positions with the harp turned to the left for my left shoulder as well. It’s never

really bothered me a lot and now (45 years later) it has presented the first real problem for

me. I’m now teaching and I encourage all my students to use their right shoulder as I feel

they should. When playing examples though I play on my left and the hand positions are

quite different. It’s confusing for the students.

I’m thinking of changing shoulders after many years of harp playing and finding that it

isn’t very easy because of the fact that both my pedal and my hand positions are very

different when the harp is turned for the right shoulder. It’s actually quite frustrating and

certainly awkward at best. I’m also at a point where I’m acquiring two new pedal harps for

work and practice so if I’m going to do the switch , now would be the time.

How many of you feel that I should go ahead and do the major work of shifting

shoulders now in my career which would mean practically re-learning my total repertiore?

(Not to mention switching bass and treble hands)

I wish that I could ge back and redo all the years of practice but as a performer the left

shoulder thing doesn’t bother me, only as a teacher.

Opinions?!?