harpcolumn

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Coffee Break Violin

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Madeline Davis
    Participant

Any other harpists out there that also play violin? How about other instruments? I’m curious how many play two(or more) at once.

Sherri Matthew
    Participant

Hi Madeline,
    I play organ. Used to play pipe organ in church, now play digitally sampled organ in my recording studio. Played piano (classical) prior to that. Would be interested in violin if I had some extra time.

I majored in clarinet and still play in the community band. I played violin in high school but sold my instrument a few years ago. My major was in music therapy so I’ve also dabbled in piano, guitar, and percussion.

andee-craig
    Participant

I play violin (well, Irish fiddle really). I play mostly Irish music on harp and a good portion of my repertoire on harp overlaps with my fiddle, but not all of it.

kay-lister

A lifetime on the piano and a few hours with a flute (Puff the Magic Dragon – ;-)). Also a short time on guitar but nothing worth mentioning there either. So, piano and harp are the only ones that have produced anything worth talking about.

I play both violin and harp professionally. I gave two classical violin recitals in Germany years ago., after degrees from Eastman School of Music in N.Y. Learning harp from 9 years of private lessons later, I’m not an orchestra player on harp; my upper-intermediate playing level allows background music, weddings, and church music. Diversity of instruments allows more employment opportunities, I have found.

jessica-wolff
    Participant

Guitar, harp, banjo in that order. Can play lute derivatively, because I played lute and vihuela music on guitar. On trips, sometimes take along a bowed psaltery because it’s so eminently portable.