column

Squashed Under My Harps

Home Forums Performing Squashed Under My Harps

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 47 total)
  • Author
    mia-strayer
    Participant

This is for women only!!!!!!!!

I’ve been getting squashed under my harps
    The pain is in my upper back,middle back neck & shoulders
    I also have MILD CP & SEVEAR schoolhouses
    Do you think it’s because I’m not sitting properly
    or do you think my harps might be too big for me
    It hurts when I even bend over
    Do you think it could be something els
    I’ve been playing harp for around 8 years
    I started when I was around 16 years old

Do you know of any simple exercises that could help my BAD back
    Thanks for the help

Gretchen Cover
    Participant

Mia, your pain sounds like it is caused by not stretching enough. I take yoga lessons once or twice a week and try to stretch in-between and do some stretching after I practice a long time. If I don’t, I have the same pain you do. I have a slight curve in my spine, too. You may also want to try raising your harp bench a little higher.

Tacye
    Participant

Hi Mia,
    I really doubt your harps are too big as I have seen some really small people play huge harps, but you may not be playing with the right posture for you. I was taught to have no weight from the harp on my shoulder at all. I can lean back on my seat and the harp stays where it is. This is because the long leg bones are much stronger and better to take the load than the stacked up vertabrae of the spine. Also if you hold your harp very close to the balance point where it is neither tipping forward or back there is very little weight on you. I find sitting high helps me get this position.

As well as the problem of the harp resting on you, if you sit higher you don’t need to raise your arms so high which you may find more comfortable. So really I am just saying as Gretchen, maybe raise your bench a bit, but with a lot more words!

mia-strayer