harpcolumn

Learning Harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Learning Harp

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Susan Beal

Hello, I am new to harp and wanting to learn as much as I can, but nowhere near a teacher! I got myself a Stoney End Eve harp in December 08 and a couple of months ago, a friend give me her 30-year-old Aoyama 120, a 34 string fully levered harp. While I’ve had a few serious relationships with other instruments and flirted or played around with quite a few others, the harp is the instrument I am ready to commit to for life. I’ve got Sylvia Wood’s book, a book of etudes and practice skills, and various books of arrangements for small harp that I use for fun and to practice sight reading.

Even though I’ve made reasonable (and slow!) progress on my own, I’d love to find a teacher, as I believe I would learn more, faster, and not develop bad habits. Still, I hesitate, because I am so happy and having so much fun dinking around on my own that I don’t want to lose that. I remember some stressful music lessons from my childhood and college years, with teachers who were more into the proper way to do things than they were into the joy of playing ( although I certainly had some wonderful teachers, too). I consider myself “in recovery” from classical music training and all that anxiety that goes with doing things “the right way”, and not at all interested in getting tense about this–I want to learn as much as I can while preserving the spirit of joy and pleasure I feel since I’ve started. I fear that a mismatch with a teacher would be worse than not having one at all.