harpcolumn

Josh Layne has started a youtube weekly video series and demonstrates amazing pedaling

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Josh Layne has started a youtube weekly video series and demonstrates amazing pedaling

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author

I wrote about Josh Layne in a student blog (that has been languishing for months now- hey I’m a student!) because he’s an

unknown-user
    Participant

I’ve always thought that was kind of neat… I usually put all my pedals into flat like that at the end of a practice…

HOWEVER, I would definitely classify that technique as “do not use unless ABSOLUTELY necessary.” Unfortunately, the section that he demonstrated does not require the technique. However, he does look like he has good control of it. To each his own, but I can’t believe anyone would pick that over generally accepted pedal technique when the latter can be easily utilized.

~Sam

carl-swanson
    Participant

How exactly do you find this on youtube?

barbara-brundage
    Participant

Here you go, Carl:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HcYBGbP8kyo

If your feet are suitable, you can use this technique and little enharmonic chord spelling in the Apotheosis from Swan Lake, also, and the pedaling becomes really easy.

But personally, my feet just aren’t large enough for me to be able to comfortably do this on a normal concert grand pedal box (haven’t tried it on an 85P–maybe I could do it there), and I find it generally easier to pedal with moderate high heels, which puts this technique totally out of bounds. Easy for guys, with their larger feet and flat shoes, though.

carl-swanson
    Participant