harpcolumn

Handel Passacalgia

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Professional Harpists Handel Passacalgia

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 34 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

Hi all,

I’m looking to order a version of Handel’s Passacaglia online but I can’t seem to find an edition that my teacher knows. Can anyone find a edition? Or can anyone validate that the Magistretti edition on harp.com is a respectable edition?

~Sam

Misty Harrison
    Participant

The one I learned when I was a student was edited by Tiny Beon and harp.com sells it.

barbara-brundage
    Participant

The Magistretti is a big ornate version. The standard pedal harp editions today are the Tiny Beon or the one by Yolanda Kondonassis, which is in her collection. You could also play the real keyboard version, which is readily available as part of the Handel Keyboard Suite no. 7 in g minor, although harpists seem to shun it for some reason.

barbara-brundage
    Participant

Incidentally, Sam, if you search for “passacaille” rather than “passacaglia” you’ll get more results.

mr-s

Hi Sam , i play the version by Alphonse Leduc Paris, i didnt play or know about Magistretti version…….

What isn’t clear in the urtext edition I have is whether the sections have repeats or not. They have doublebarlines, but no repeat symbols. However, I think the characteristic thing to do is to repeat each variation either as an echo or with (differing) ornamentation. The Tiny Beon has been the standard edition for years despite errors. I recall they were corrected somewhere, perhaps in a Journal article. I have the Magistretti and it is of interest, but I would get the original unless you are learning it for a competition.

Mel Sandberg
    Participant

Good thing

Han Hsieh
    Participant

Any one know which harp version was first published?