Andante Cantabile


Gretchen Monson presents this challenging yet moving arrangement of Rachmaninoff's Prelude No. 4, Op. 23 for two pedal harps and one lever harp. It begins with a simple melody accompanied by low arpeggios then moves on to a variation of the first melody with a duplet-on-triplet accompaniment pattern. The piece reaches a climax at the mid-point with many accidentals (lever harp part has fewer), and the ending picks up the melody again and finishes poignantly. The harp 2 and the lever harp parts play the accompaniment while harp 1 is melody.

This piece is a PDF download in the following combinations:

  • Complete Set: $15.00
    (includes score and three parts; score not available separately)
  • Harp 1 only: $3.50
  • Harp 2 only: $3.50
  • Lever Harp only: $3.50

Length: score is 10 pgs.; parts are 3-4 pgs.

Duration: 4:40