harpcolumn

Where is your harp taking you? What tangents have you found too good to resist.

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Where is your harp taking you? What tangents have you found too good to resist.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

Hi Everyone

I’m really interested to know why you are playing the harp and where you hope to take it. Did your initial ideas about it change once you gained exposure to the music? Initially I bought a harp to play for myself and learn all those “celtic” pieces. It seemed to fit with my ideal about reviving some sort of ancestral history. But once I started playing I discovered that the music I truly liked the sound of and found satisfying to play weren’t celtic pieces at all. I fell in love with early music

John McK
    Participant

I too really love early music even though I don’t have a harp (yet.)

My initial goal (when I get

brook-boddie
    Participant

CH,

Very interesting question!

unknown-user
    Participant

Like many harpists of my generation, I began playing on a troubador harp with Sam Milligan’s books. I couldn’t wait to get to a pedal harp and play classical music too. I continued to play early music as well. I went on to study voice, dance, and have become a composer and writer as well, but it is all harp-centered. I have done some historical research and begun publishing music. The one continuous theme is that the harp is expensive and constantly wants to be fed strings, parts, new music, more music, new music, old music, more music, more, more. He is very greedy, and hard to put to sleep at night. He’s a little more quiecent since I bought him a gold crown, but what a superiority complex he has.

Being a performing harpist!

unknown-user
    Participant