harpcolumn

What method /etude books would you recommend for beginner-intermediate student?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play What method /etude books would you recommend for beginner-intermediate student?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Nicbo
    Participant

I’m coming back to harp after years of not playing/owning one and I need some advice on what books to get…

The teacher I learned from didn’t suggest any method books. She taught me how to pluck, and we jumped right into playing music. She would then show me how to play as I learned each piece of music.

I would spend at least an hour on techniques when I was a piano student, so I thought this was odd, but since I wasn’t going to become a professional harpist, I was okay with her style of teaching.

I’m going back to playing it again but this time I want to focus mainly on techniques. I have searched for the similar topic posted in the past, but I have a trouble finding the original posts rather than the threads that followed them:{ You might think “oh someone else is asking for method book recommendation again!” but I’d be very appreciative if you could show me what books are good for beginner-intermediate student:)

I’m not looking for the very beginner books that are suited for little learners. (With fun illustration or large staff, or how to count, etc.)

Thank you!

wil-weten
    Participant

I like Pamela Bruner’s books Play the Harp Beautifully I-III (You may like to start with Vol. II)
    I can also can heartily recommend you some youtube (free!) playlists of Josh Layne. Especially:
    * Basics! Learn to Play the Harp
    * Fundamentals/technique
    Also, you may like to follow his Harp Tuesdays and Slow Motion Mondays. And you will find much more treasures there waiting for you.