harpcolumn

What makes for a good(or bad) teacher?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp What makes for a good(or bad) teacher?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    carl-swanson
    Participant

OK students!

unknown-user
    Participant

As a student I try to get the greatest benefit from each teacher I encounter. Diverse personalities and teaching styles are beneficial to overall growth, so I value the unique qualities of each of my teachers. I appreciate teachers who have clear, accurate, deep understanding of their art, who understand the big picture as well as details. Individual communication style is not significant to me, whether it is more gentle or abrupt, just as long as the teacher sincerely desires my growth as an artist. Technique is the foundation for creating art, and the process of teaching these tools is most successful when adaptable to the needs of each student. The teachers that I have found most deeply rewarding value the unique strengths of their students encouraging creativity and individuality. They help the student to ?breathe deeply? and find themselves as artists. Each student?s path is as unique as they are and it takes great empathy and wisdom to discover each path and guide the student through it.

Some teachers approach the learning process as an intricately sculpted garden, with clearly set paths through which they guide each student to a certain goal, with beauties guaranteed. Others approach learning like a field of wildflowers to run through wildly picking flowers, falling down to look at the clouds, discovering a new path, defining a unique experience. I don?t conclude that one approach is better than the other, but personally, my great joy and meaning is found in the field of wildflowers.

Sherj DeSantis
    Participant

Dear Carl,

unknown-user
    Participant