harpcolumn

What Car is best for Moving a harp?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists What Car is best for Moving a harp?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Meghan Caulkett
    Participant

I have a full size harp, and am moving across the country, and buying a new car when I get there. I am wondering if you have any suggestions for what cars work best for moving harps. I am hoping to stay away from mini-vans and station wagons, but please let me know!

Audrey Nickel
    Participant

I have no experience with this personally, as my lever harp fits comfortably in the back of my sedan, and my lap harp takes up even less space, but I’ve seen people here recommend the Honda Element as a good “Harpmobile.”

Still, if by “full-size harp” you mean a pedal harp, I’m not sure how you might get by without a van or something similar.

Audrey

J P
    Participant

Meghan,

There are a lot of options available to harpist today. With new models coming out every year it seems the possiblities are endless. If you’re wanting to stay away from minivans and wagons why not consider a cross over vehicle? Chrysler makes a lovely Pacifica which is a cross over. Ford has a delightful Freestyle which is a cross over. Nissan makes a bad ass murano. Dodge makes the magnum and even though it’s

diane-michaels
    Spectator

It’s a highly individual choice, and some personal factors weigh in.

janet-king
    Participant

search this site for related postings.

unknown-user
    Participant

I am new to harps but have been a travelling musician for some time. One car comes to mind, a Volvo 740 wagon (or a 240).