harpcolumn

What are the most harps that a symphony composer wrote for?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Professional Harpists What are the most harps that a symphony composer wrote for?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    laura-palmieri
    Participant

In Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique, I heard

mr-s

Sorry Laura dont understand your question,do you mean 40 harps play togother in one composition???

Tacye
    Participant

Berlioz once mustered 25 harps together, but I haven’t heard of 40.

unknown-user
    Participant

I’m a composer so maybe I can help to clarify. Berlioz didn’t call for 40 harps in the Symphonie Fantastique, but near the end of his instrumentation treatise he gave the breakdown for what he called, if I remember correctly, his “dream orchestra”. The numbers are staggering and impractical on any scale – and he calls for dozens of harps. Perhaps 40, but I don’t remember the exact number.

Bantock asks for 6 harps in his Celtic Symphony, but I don’t believe that they are 6 real parts, since it is a request on his part, and he states that to have the proper effect, 6 harps should be employed.

As for highest number of real parts, I think Wagner holds the record.

Norman

P.S. How do you make italics in this forum?

David Ice
    Participant

While not symphony per se,

Lynne Abbey-Lee
    Participant

Not an orchestral piece, but in college, I played Prokofiev’s Ode to the End of the War, for winds, 4 pianos, and 8 harps.

laura-palmieri
    Participant

Thank you for all the replies! I am taking a symphony class right now and was curious to see how many symphonic composers

laura-palmieri
    Participant

To make italics, you just go to where you post your replies and on the left hand corner underneath