harpcolumn

Trying to decide which LEVER Harp to purchase?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Trying to decide which LEVER Harp to purchase?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 52 total)
  • Author

Looking for quality Lever Harp that has beautiful sound, same tension as pedal (so if I want to upgrade) and won’t break my budget.

Would love to hear discussion as to benefits and comparisons of L & H, Salvi, Camac, Dusty etc.

I love the look of L & H Prelude but also curious as to the differences with Salvi’s Gaia, Hermes and Ana

Yes, I’m a newbie and appreciate feedback.

wil-weten
    Participant

Hi Gail, for many moons now I have been on the same quest… Except that I don’t have any plans to move to a pedal harp (yes, I don’t believe it would be a question of upgrading, just like no violinist would ever say he is upgrading to a cello, it’s just a different kind of instrument).

The following is what I have come to believe.

Beauty is partly a question of taste. Some people like a warm and full tone (like me). Other prefer or more clear and transparant tone. Others something in between.

To start with your idea of pedal harp tension, I firmly believe that it won’t make too much of a difference in technique when you would go from a firm middle tension lever harp or a high tension lever harp to a pedal harp. I am not talking about low tension harps, as these might well tolerate techniques that are less suitable for playing the pedal harp.

As to ‘breaking the budget’: this is a personal thing. See buying a harp as an investment which will bring you joy for many years. When right now, you don’t have the money burning in your pocket for the harp you love, you may consider hiring one for the time being.