harpcolumn

theory software?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp theory software?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    barbara-brundage
    Participant

Does anyone have any suggestions for music theory for older adult beginners? I’ve been finding that lately even my older studennts seem to do more with a software program than books, and I really liked the Alfred Music Theory program, but it is so long since it was released that it will not work on any of my current computers, either mac OS X (not at all) or win XP SP 2 (most unreliably). Does anyone have any alternate suggestions, or even printed materials they like for total beginners who are also grownups? (I’ve used the Alfred books and the Schaum Notespellers, but they are unquestionably dry).

Leigh Griffith
    Participant

Hi Barbara,

I’m running XP with SP2 and got the Alfred demo from Sylvia Woods. It
    works fine. Maybe they have an upgraded version? If so, and you have
    bought it before, it seems that you should get some sort of discount on
    the uprade. I have the book and it is a bit dry, but

barbara-brundage
    Participant

Hi, Leigh. Thanks. On my computer and my student’s computers, the Win version runs, but the audio keeps dropping out, and most of them aren’t musically sophisticated enough to know when they should be hearing something.

AFAICT from their site, no attempt has been made to do anything to this program since it was released in 2002. I emailed them a while ago about the mac version and basically got told to take a hike (in very polite terms). They don’t seem to be interested in this side of things anymore, which makes me wonder if Musition or something has stolen their user base away. That’s why I started this thread.

barbara-brundage
    Participant

>They don’t seem to be interested in this side of things anymore