harpcolumn

THe Perfect Harp Car

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Professional Harpists THe Perfect Harp Car

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 139 total)
  • Author
    kirsten-osborne
    Participant

I have been using a Ford Taurus Station wagon for the past four years to transport my harp to gigs.

I love my Outback, but it’s a little tricky getting my concert grand in there — has to go on an angle with the front passenger seat moved pretty far forward. It works. Not hard to get in, but I know for a fact it doesn’t slide in as easily as the Taurus because my teacher has the Taurus and she showed me how easily hers goes in. But ooooh I LOVE this car. I had it before I started on harp, so it was just meant to be — the harp and me.

Elizabeth Volpe posted that her Toyota Sierra (I think that was it) van was a really great car for her harps. But I don’t imagine it gets super mileage. Come to think of it, the Outback only gets about 25 mph average combined highway/non-highway miles.

Briggs

erin-wood
    Participant

I loved the Taurus too for loading.

michelle-winston
    Participant

I had a Taurus forever and loved it with my concert Venus…but with a need to seat 5 kids…that required a minivan, so we choose the Town and Country with Stow n Go seating…the seats all fold flat in the car so I can get the harp in flat, or with my new “harp seat” that we built, I can get it in between the seats with the column down, but isn’t resting on the column and I can still get 3 kids in not that it happens often.

J P
    Participant

A Dodge Magnum will fit a Concert Grand quite nicely. To the poster that had issues with a Concert Grand, not sure what you were doing but a CG does fit. If you like the taurus wagon check out the Ford Freestyle, it’s a cross over between a Wagon and SUV and has loads of room for harp related activities.

JP