harpcolumn

Teeth clenching

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play Teeth clenching

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    allegra
    Spectator

I wonder if anyone else has this problem when playing. I’m a beginner on the harp, and I am trying to learn to get rid of tension when I play, as it’s a real issue for me. I’ve had some Alexander technique sessions, which helped me become a bit more aware, and one thing that I notice is that I clench my teeth when I play (particularly when I’m concentrating on trying to relax other bits of me). That increased tension – which also ends up in my neck – contributes to making the sound very twangy, as well as gives me sore jaws and teeth. I’m not having lessons at the moment. I have tried holding a pencil between my teeth, but I just end up drooling, or clenching down on it, which doesn’t really help! (I also have a guard that I can wear on my teeth to protect them, like when I clench at night, which is fine, but doesn’t do anything for the tension itself). I play really slowly, trying to release everything in between each note, but it seems to happen as I’m actually plucking the string, so it’s quite hard to control. And other times in just creeps in without me noticing it start. Has anyone found good ways to overcome a habit like this?

Biagio
    Participant

I used to have the same habit and still do when deeply into arranging. I’d say that the key to relaxation lies in one’s mental state – it is well known that we retain more and play better in what neurologists call the Alpha wave state. Here are a few harp-specific suggestions:

Start with slow relaxed stretches, particularly the spine and lower extremities.