harpcolumn

Taking Lessons? How long?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Taking Lessons? How long?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    rod-c
    Participant

How long have you been taking harp lessons? Do you know how long you will continue to take lessons?

shelby-m
    Participant

I started playing harp about 9 months ago, and that’s how long I’ve been taking lessons.

carl-swanson
    Participant

Rod- I think there’s a difference between professionals and amateurs on the issue of lessons. Professionals, or students who are on the track to become professional, should take lessons until they have developed an advanced technique and understanding of repertoire, period style, musical expression, etc. After that they can work occasionally with a teacher, particularly one who specializes in what they want, like orchestra parts or competition repertoire and preparation. But the bottom line with professionals is still a well developed and advanced technique.

Amateurs(and I’m not using that term in a derogatory way), are playing the instrument more or less as a hobby and purely for fun. They will probably need a teacher to help them with every piece that they are ever going to learn. They are also going to develop their technique much slower than a student on the professional track, if only because they don’t have the 4 or 5 hours a day to practice. For both amateurs and professionals, going regularly to a teacher can be a huge help in learning new repertoire, just because it supplies deadlines(the next lesson) for getting things done. Without that even professionals can drag and dawdle on getting new pieces learned and finished.

kay-lister

I have been studying harp for 9 years now under Rebecca Anstine Smith.

kay-lister

Also, I will continue with my lessons as long as Becky can stand me.