harpcolumn

Sylvia Woods book for lap harp and Harpsicles

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Sylvia Woods book for lap harp and Harpsicles

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    HBrock25
    Participant

Hello,
    I am new to the harp and harp column so a quick intro. About a month ago I went along to a birthday party with some friends I was staying with, and someone else at the party had brought along a wire strung lap harp. I showed some interest and she let me have a go at playing it. That was the beginning of something special. Since then I have spent all my spare time web surfing to find out more about the celtic/folk/lever harp. I have been a flute player and teacher for many years, but am ashamed to say that I was totally unaware of the lever harp, even though I love celtic/Irish/folk music. I think I’ve learnt a lot from my internet research and am glad to have found this forum so that I can make contact with real people. I am just about ready to order a Harpsicle harp, I still need to decide which one (how many levers), and which colour (I’m leaning towards a green or natural coloured Fullsicle). I think this is a good place to start and down the track I may look at getting something bigger when I know better what I want to do with my harp. I also like the idea of a harp small enough to be portable. For now I mostly want to enjoy playing and learning for myself, without the pressure of doing it professionally as I do with flute. But I suspect I will be happy to play for anyone willing to listen because I think the harp sounds so great, even when you’re a beginning player.