harpcolumn

Small harp, lap harp, baby harp, or something?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Small harp, lap harp, baby harp, or something?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    HBrock25
    Participant

I’m a beginner on a nice 34 string lever harp. I really am interested in purchasing a smaller harp – say, 8-20 strings? – for travel purposes, playing with friends at the park, and to bring to camps when I am working as a counselor. I am looking for a small harp to fit in my lap and something that I can carry around without being too large. I really wanted to get something with levers, but everything I have found online has not been good quality. I’ve found a lot of nicer 22 string and higher harps, but they are much bigger then I would like.

And recommendations of where I could find one would be great! Thank you!

Simona Millham
    Participant

Hi Madeline

I think you might find so few strings rather limiting – when I was a new beginner I started off with a 19 string lap harp because I was obsessed with “something small”.

Zen Sojourner
    Participant

I have a Blevins Bouree, also 26 strings, which is fairly portable.

Karen Choo
    Participant

Hi Simona,

I am considering a Cameo 26. Ever tried bringing your Cameo 26 on board a plane as a carry-on? Does it fit in the overhead cabin? How would you describe the tone?

Karen

Cheryl Z.
    Participant

Hi Madeline,

Try getting a Harpsicle or Sharpsicle.

Slightly off the wall suggestion, but if portability is a big issue, and if you don’t mind trying something slightly different for variety, have you considered getting something like a Finnish kantele?