harpcolumn

Shoes: To Wear or Not to Wear

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Coffee Break Shoes: To Wear or Not to Wear

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    rod-c
    Participant

Hello:

In another thread here, Tony and Sylvia mentioned practicing/playing the pedal harp in their bare feet. I agree with Tony….if you get used to playing without shoes, it hard to get into the habit of playing with shoes. (This is not a life or death issue here, but I thought it might be fun to seek comments from others.)

I always wear Nike shoes for everday. They are quite clunky for changing pedals, so two years ago, when I started playing pedal harp, I took my shoes off–wore only my socks.

Yes, I found it very tempting to play in my socks. I mentioned it to my very fine teacher who warned me about that. I do not want to go to gigs in a gown and play in my stocking or bare feet. I think it looks awful. I saw professional harpists play in a tux with bare feet and it just looked really bad to me….as if the harpist couldn’t adapt to playing with shoes.

The same thing happens to organists. I know personally of two who were adamant about playing without shoes until a certain teacher convinced them it was better with shoes. My own organ teacher told me what shoes to get, I did, and I never wanted to play without shoes.

Since I started wearing a good shoe at the harp,

Misty Harrison
    Participant

I used to practice in bare feet as a student. It is nice but I like the leverage and protection a good shoe provides. Sometimes a pedal will flip up suddenly and you can really hurt your feet with that. Some harpists have broken toes while pedaling.