column

Replacing Strings in the ‘harp that shall not be named’

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Replacing Strings in the ‘harp that shall not be named’

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    catherine-coates
    Participant

Hello everyone…this is my first time to post so be gentle:-)…. I was actually given a gift of a Meghan harp this Christmas… I’m a beginner and I’m just having fun with it at the moment. It’s not that bad really, well not for how I’m just playing around with it anyway, but I was thinking that if I replaced the strings with better quality ones it may improve it somewhat…especially the top octaves.. Could anyone perhaps guide me as to what type/brand of strings would be suitable etc… Any help is greatly appreciated
    Thanks

Tacye
    Participant

Markwood Strings have been mentioned as having string charts for these – but they are in the US. If shipping the strings is too expensive they might just sell you the details and I am sure someone like Salopian Strings could provide the strings themselves.

katie-buckley
    Participant

Catherine, I don’t have an answer for you, but congrats on the new harp and I hope you are having a lot of fun!

catherine-coates
    Participant

Thanks for the info Tayce….I’ll check them out…. and Katie…..I’m certainly enjoying it….going to give myself a bit of time and then perhaps ‘upgrade’ to a better harp

donna-germano–2
    Participant