harpcolumn

Reasons for mysterious gender imbalance in harp playing…?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Coffee Break Reasons for mysterious gender imbalance in harp playing…?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 30 total)
  • Author

(Sorry in advance if this has been covered before, I looked for old threads and while I have found mentions of this, I didn’t find a specific thread.)

So, I am a physicist and also female and therefore in a minority – I’d say that my workplace is about 10 men to every woman. Most of my friends are guys and I spend most of my time in groups with large male majorities which feels normal and natural to me by now. Whenever I go someplace (even cyber-space) that is woman-dominated, I tend to really notice, not in any way because it’s bad, only because I am not so used to it. And I also spend a lot of time thinking about why this might be (either situation), which is sort of unavoidable if you are a female scientist. And something I noticed is A LOT (but by no means all) of the lovely (by all means all!) people on this forum are women, or at least have female screen names. And every harpist I ever met in real life was a woman.

Now this has been puzzling me ever since I joined this forum: I know there are lots of gender imbalances in lots of instruments. I grew up learning the trumpet and I quickly noticed that brass playing is heavily male-dominated, but I can think of a good reason for that – playing a brass instrument is very physically demanding, it’s like doing exercise and can test your endurance, stomach muscles and lung capacity – things which men tend to be better at. And the flute is a dainty little instrument which I can see people might mistakenly assume is appropriate for girls not boys and therefore suggest to their daughters, not their sons.