harpcolumn

Question about the Camac Korrigan

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Question about the Camac Korrigan

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Anna Davies
    Participant

So this is my first post here – hello everyone! I’m really excited because I’ve just taken home my very first harp, a Camac Korrigan. Already I’m in love, and really enjoying just settling in and getting to know it. I only started playing in January, so I’m still very much a beginner, and I’ve only been learning on a little rented lap harp until now so having 38 strings feels enormous!

At the moment, though, I’m a little worried that the metal strings in the bass sound so different from the gut strings on the rest of the harp. I think the tones are both fine (though perhaps the metal strings sound a bit metallic-y) but when I’m playing I really notice the different in sounds between metal and gut as I move between them. Do you think this is something that might settle in time, or that I might get used to (my rented harp had nylon strings, and no low notes to speak of…), or might it be worth getting some different strings? If it’s just a foible of the harp that can’t be changed then I’m sure I can get used to it, but I would like to know if it’s something I can solve!

deb-l
    Participant

I love wire in the bass, it sounds much stronger than nylon and has a nice ring to it.

Anna Davies
    Participant

Oh I’m sure a lot of it is just that it needs getting used to. It is a big step from my rental harp!

I think I might try and damp down the strings in the lower register with some felt or cloth for now – I can see how the sustain and the ring would be really nice in a bigger space, but in my little room it is a bit overwhelming. But I’ll definitely give it time before doing anything like replacing the strings, etc.

deb-l