harpcolumn

Practiced Musician, New Harpist?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Practiced Musician, New Harpist?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    HBrock25
    Participant

Hello! My name is Natalie, and I have been playing the harp since September. I did play it for a few months back in the 3rd grade, but my teacher was too far away so I had to stop. I am now in the 8th grade and really want to pursue harp as a career. I have five years of vocal experience, four years of piano, and one year of guitar. My question to you is what are some good

Tacye
    Participant

Hi Natalie,
    There are many great places to study harp if you are interested in pedal harp, especially primarily classical music (Paris, New York…) but fewer places offer folk or historical performance.
    Not studying harp at university need not prevent you becoming a professional harpist- you just need to play well: three of my university friends who are now professional harpists studied respectively Celtic studies, biology and teaching.