harpcolumn

Please Help – Which Model to Rent/Purchase?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Please Help – Which Model to Rent/Purchase?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Sarah Brooks
    Participant

Hi I’m a newbie and I’m looking to rent a harp for at least 3 months
    before buying. I know nothing about the sound/quality/longevity of the
    different makes and although I’ve listened to some being played on
    youtube etc. it’s very hard to work out what would be best for me. I’ve
    had various makes recommended (by two professional harpists and a
    beginner), but feel utterly confused and would appreciate advice from
    anyone who has played or owned these makes:

Telynau Teifi Gwennol or Eos
    Camac Hermine, Melusine, Cambria, Korrigan, Stivell
    Lyon and Healy Troubadour
    Salvi Prima 34 (or a more professional model)
    Triplett signature 36

I
    want at least 34 strings and my musical tastes are very broad so I hope
    to play a mixture of traditional songs (Celtic-style pieces and early
    music), modern ‘chart’ (easy listening kind of things), hymns, and
    possibly some classical pieces. I’m going to have lessons to start me
    off, I’m 5 foot 5 inches tall and will be an adult learner.

I’m based in the UK and hope to attend a harp festival to see some of
    the brands mentioned later this month, but the Troubador and Triplett
    models won’t be there.

Any advice about type of strings (nylon or
    gut), levers etc. would be most welcome, but especially opinions on the
    makes mentioned above. I also posted this in amateur harpists. Thank you.

jessica-wolff
    Participant