harpcolumn

Play pedal harps without gut strings?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Play pedal harps without gut strings?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

Hello everybody,

I’m new to this forum and am so glad that I found it. I’m 37 and an absolute beginner on playing the harp, but I felt attracted to harps and wanted to learn to play them for oh so many years. Recently I asked myself what I’m waiting for and decided to start learning.

I’ve been reading through a lot of your posts here but still have some questions I hope you may have answers to. Sorry if my English isn’t always correct, it is not my mother tongue.

I really would like to play a pedal harp because of its musical range. I don’t like folk music or the like and would prefer to play pop and classical music. I know that most of the people normally start with a lever harp and some of them buy a pedal harp later. But I think it is cheaper fo me in the long term to spend my money for a Daphne harp now (which I middling can afford) instead of buying a lever harp now, on which I will never be able to play the music I would like to and then, later, have to spend money again to buy a pedal harp.

So my first question to you is: Is it more difficult to learn playing the harp with a pedal harp instead of a lever harp? Or is there no difference in the level of difficulty and it is just everybody’s own preference?

And my second question is a core issue for me:

barbara-brundage
    Participant

Yes, you can string a pedal harp with nylon strings, but the harp should be regulated by a technician when you change the stringing material. It won’t sound as nice, of course, but where I live many pedal harpists use few or no gut strings because of the problem of string breakage from the humidity.