harpcolumn

Orchestral parts – how long before do you usually get them?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Repertoire Orchestral parts – how long before do you usually get them?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Victoria
    Participant

Hi everyone, I got contacted by the local orchestra a couple of weeks ago asking me to help them out for their concert. The rehearsal starts next week and yet they haven’t sent me the parts yet because they’re not ready. I am sincerely hoping it would be ready before the first rehearsal so I won’t have to sightread it and ruin the whole thing.

As I am still an amateur student with little experience, I was just wondering if it is normal to get parts at the last minute, or do you usually get them long before the rehearsal so you can prepare? So that next time I know what to do (whether I should demand the parts to be sent to me before the rehearsal or if I should just wait). Thanks a lot in advance.

Tacye
    Participant

It depends on the orchestra, and how much I jump up and down demanding, but I will say taking up orchestral playing was very good for my sightreading. I think it may also depend where you are: British orchestras have a reputation for sightreading. If the parts are only coming from the hire library a week before and it is in copyright there isn’t all that much you can do, though a good library may have a score. Do you have plenty of time to learn the part between the first rehearsal and concert?

For works that are out of copyright, especially standard works, you can increasingly often find the parts on http://imslp.org/wiki/Category:Composers

Also, it isn’t the easiest to use website and no printing but you can pinch pedal markings from here: http://archives.nyphil.org/