harpcolumn

Ogden tension question

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Ogden tension question

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Aleisha Cassidy
    Participant

Hi all,

I may have found a Lyon and Healy Ogden harp available in my area. I have never played a higher tension harp, and I wanted to ask for input from those who have. I am still a beginner and I would like to be able to play folk music. My question would be whether or not the Ogden would be suitable for playing faster folk tunes as well as classical pieces. I adore the sound of the Ogden, but it is important to me to be able to comfortably play folk tunes.
    Thank you for any input!

wil-weten
    Participant

Hi Aleisha, the L&H Ogden harp has pedal gut string tension. One must be a very accomplished harp player to be able to play fast folk tunes on it. This harp is much better suited for playing classical pieces.

Aleisha Cassidy
    Participant

Good to know – thank you for your reply!

harpist123
    Participant