harpcolumn

Novel research: old harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Novel research: old harp

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Mary Song
    Participant

Hello,

I’m a novelist and amateur harpist and I’m hoping that someone would like to go down this hypothetical lane with me, so I can get this right.

What do you think will happen to a harp that is left in an unused room for some decades? Will the strings be broken? Will there be cracks on the soundboard? Will it be possible to fix it and play on it after so much time?

I appreciate any theories you might have. 🙂

• This topic was modified 2 years, 10 months ago by Mary Song.
    charles-nix
    Participant

To even take a guess, I’d want to know more…..

What kind of harp?
    Gut strings?
    Is unused room heated or cooled?
    Humidity?
    Near the coast?
    In the desert?

1 decade, 8 decades?

Anything _can_ be fixed………..

Biagio
    Participant

Assuming that the harp is of 4 octaves or more and is stored:
    – at ambient temperature and humidity
    – with the strings at playing tension
    – the sound board is wood (not a laminate or carbon fiber)

it is likely that at the least some strings will be broken, and very possible that the neck will be too. You need to be more specific before we can give you a better answer.

I restored an 80 year old harp that had been stored in metal storage bin for over ten years – all of the (gut) strings had to be replaced, the neck was bent at the pillar joint and cracked at the knee. That storage facility was outside San Diego (ouch!).

So yeah it can be done.

Mary Song
    Participant

Thanks for your replies so far!