harpcolumn

New and tryng to decide on Harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists New and tryng to decide on Harp

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 34 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant
    Hi there,
    unknown-user
    Participant

I was a newbie a year ago, and I love to play the harp. I am going to give you advice that you will not want, but it is the very best advice that anyone can give you. If at all possible, rent first, don’t buy.

I was in your shoes a year ago, almost to the dot. I’m short, back and neck problems, small hands. The makers you’ve mentioned are great, and there are other great makers about whom you will learn as you get into your lessons. If you can get to a regional harp fair, go and see and play other harps as well as the ones you’ve spoken about.

You will be amazed and pleased with how your tastes refine as you study, and with experience you will have the opportunity to make an informed decision about what works for you best. There are many harp dealers who do rentals, and several give you the advantage of renting-to-own or being able to trade a rental for its value when you purchase.

A lap harp is much tougher on a beginner than a floor harp, because you will be able to find a comfortable position without struggling against gravity.

tony-morosco
    Participant

I would definitely advise against a lap harp. A floor harp of 32 to 36 strings is the minimum I would recommend, and definitely get full levers if you can. Although you might not need them right away if you are looking for a harp that will be able to use for a long time as you progress then the two things that will most impede your progress will be too few strings and missing levers.