harpcolumn

Music Therapist or Therapeutic Musician?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Performing Music Therapist or Therapeutic Musician?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Chiara
    Participant

Hello Everyone!
    First off, this is my first time posting on ‘Harp Column’; I have had to submit this a few times for it to come up on my end, so if you see this post more than once, please excuse my lack of computer skills!:)
    I am a harp student from Pa, and am strongly considering studying harp in college after graduation. I am wondering if anyone is a practicing music therapist/ therapeutic musician? I considering this as something I may do in the future, but am unsure of the employment opportunities. I was thinking to maybe do it as kind of an “on the side thing” as well as teaching the harp, performing, etc. Can anyone give me any more details on the life of a music therapist/ therapeutic musician? Are they wanted/needed much in the harp world, and is it an enjoyable and rewarding career to have?
    Also, where is the best place to get an accreditation as a therapeutic musician?
    Thanks!
    Chiara

• This topic was modified 1 year, 7 months ago by Chiara.
    balfour-knight
    Participant

Hello Chiara!

One of the best sources of information on this subject is my friend, Angi Bemiss, in Atlanta, GA. You may get on her website at Simply the Harp, and contact her. I know that she would be willing to correspond with you and help answer your questions.

Best wishes,
    Balfour (and Carol Lynn)

Chiara
    Participant

Thanks a lot! I will definitely check out the website and look into contacting her!

Chiara

• This reply was modified 1 year, 7 months ago by Chiara.
    susan-page-howland
    Participant

Hello Chiara,