harpcolumn

Looking at the harp while playing

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Looking at the harp while playing

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    isaac Brooks
    Participant

I’ve been learning harp for five years – first for three with weekly lessons, then an unfortunate year-and-a-half hiatus, and recently I’ve been trying to get back on track, though I only end up being able to have lessons every few weeks (average about one a month).
    I’ve noticed that I am unable to avoid looking at the harp strings and my fingers while playing. This means that I can’t look at the sheet, so I have to memorize all my pieces, which takes a lot of time, and makes the first few times I go through a new piece unbearable (especially in cord pieces, where I have to learn several complete fingers each measure).
    With my limited time to practice and in lessons it’s very annoying to me how much of time is spent just learning the text, rather than being able to work on the music or technique.
    Do any of you have the same problem? What would be a good way to learn how to “blind-type” the harp?

sherry-lenox
    Participant

This has driven me crazy, off and on, for the two and a half years I’ve been taking lessons. What has helped me is to practice easy pieces while looking only at the music, never at my hands or the strings.

There has been a lot of posting here about the complexity of this problem. We all know that the harp is unique in that all the other instruments in the music world can and should be played without looking at your hands, but while playing the harp it is sometimes essential to check distant intervals.