harpcolumn

Lifelong pianist curious about pedal harp

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums How To Play Lifelong pianist curious about pedal harp

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

Hello to all — happy to find this forum. I’ve been a classical pianist since I was a kid although never a conservatory-bound type, and am what I might call a pretty good amateur at this point. I also compose and definitely prefer a classical idiom although the older I get, the less trust I put in musical boundaries.

I’ve been doing some genealogical research lately and have discovered that I have many more musicians in my family than I previously thought — both my grandfather AND great-grandfather were harpists, and there are at least three others in that family line as well. This is making me somewhat curious about the harp, and after doing a bit of research, I like the idea of a pedal harp best of all because from what I can see, it would give me the near-total freedom of modulation that I already expect from a piano.

I’ve played a bit on the viola as well and still do from time to time, since it’s my favorite of the single-note instruments. (Well, single-note compared to a piano.) I’m also enamored of playing something portable; pianos are furniture, for pete’s sake. But I have little upper-body strength and extremely narrow shoulders, and violas are already injury boxes, so it’s painful no matter what I do, and I find it unmotivating to murder myself playing it only to make one sound at a time. It seems unsatisfying when you’re used to making gobs of notes at once, playing an entire piece instead of just one layer of it.