harpcolumn

Is starting on a pedal harp realistic?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Is starting on a pedal harp realistic?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    alessandra-morgan
    Participant

Hi all,

I’m sorry if this is a topic that is covered extensively, but I looked through the first five pages and didn’t see anything, and I couldn’t find a search function.

I live in Boston, MA and am thinking of looking for a teacher soon, and renting a harp. I was curious if it’s realistic to start learning on a pedal harp? I’m not a professional musician, but I have a solid musical background on a variety of instruments including guitar and piano, and am interested mostly in playing classical music.

Would it be better to start off with a larger lever harp and trade-up after I get started, or if I can afford to start renting a pedal harp from the get-go, would that be better?

Thank you!

barbara-brundage
    Participant

Sure, it’s fine to start on pedal harp. For many generations that was the only way to do it, and it worked out fine. The only reasons not to do that are financial, or if you’re too small for a pedal harp, or if you already know you prefer a lever harp or aren’t sure which you’d prefer.

But if you know what you want and can afford it, go for it.

daniele-di
    Participant

Why not, Alessandra? (Italiana? 😀 )

The pedal harp is not the step after the lever harp, they are two different things.
    If you want to focus on classical music and you are fascinated by the pedal harp, just go for it! 🙂

Daniele

tony-morosco
    Participant

If you know that the pedal harp is what you want to play and you have the finances for it then go for it. There is absolutely no other reason I can think of not to.

Although I started with a lever harp I was renting a pedal harp within months.