harpcolumn

Identifying a harp/purchasing advice

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Identifying a harp/purchasing advice

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    momcat
    Participant

Hi,

I am a new member who has been reading the forums for about a month.

I am an adult beginner, and took lessons for a few months with a very old lap harp that I have owned for years, and always wanted to learn to play properly.

My teacher told me that I should stop using my instrument and that it needed repairs. I decided that, rather than spending the money on repairs, I would save up and by a larger lever harp. (I would like to repair my old harp eventually, too). I had always wanted a floor harp, and had found the smaller size difficult to balance while learning to play.

I have spent months researching different brands and models and listening to them online. The problem is that there is nowhere near me where I can check out the harps in person, and I am loathe to make such an important choice (and large investment) without looking at, listening to, and touching them in person. I live in New York City, and am planning on going to the Somerset Harp Festival this summer. This seems like my best opportunity to check out a variety of harps all at once. The problem? I am going crazy waiting!!! I don’t know if I can hold out until then to play!

I have been looking for used harps for sale that I can check out within subway/bus reach, and such postings are few and far between. I recently saw this one:

http://newyork.craigslist.org/brk/msg/5444494333.html