harpcolumn

how often to change strings

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists how often to change strings

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Kathi Hoffer
    Participant

I have a dusty strings FH36B and it is about five years old.

HBrock25
    Participant

I dont even have a harp yet so this is not really an answer to you.

I have 20 years of acoustic guitar experience. And from that experience I can only say “YES” It matter most of all!

The strings on guitars last not more than 6 months at most. After that the tone on the strings are rather dead. But it depends on which strings you have of course. Many of my friends change strings after every gig. (that would be expensive on the harp)

The biggest impact on soundquality from my experience on guitars is:

1. Strings
    2. Shape of guitarbody
    3. Kind of wood the instrument were built, etc.

And that is not only my opinoin either.

Its going to be interesting to hear what experienced harp players say 🙂

tony-morosco
    Participant

Well, the thing is that as your strings age and the sound deteriorates it happens so slowly that you may not actively notice. But once you change them you hear the difference immediately.

How often you need to change depends on lots of things like how often you play, what kind of environment your harp is normally kept in, and even your body chemistry because some people simply have sweat that causes more deterioration than others. I actually wipe my strings down after every time I play to help prevent that, other wise I notice faster deterioration, and also faster discoloration of the bass strings.

For a professional who practices frequently, performing frequently and moving the harp often in to different environments I would say once a year.