harpcolumn

Help: Lever harp types and strings

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Help: Lever harp types and strings

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Djan
    Participant

Hello all,
    I’m an amateur beginner/intermediate harpist and I have been playing on the Pilgrim Clarsach for nearly 3.5 years with few classes. I really like playing blues, jazz & pop music over folk but I’m not looking to venture onto a pedal harp. So after much research, I’m considering buying a 34 string lever harp. I have narrowed my options to Camac Hermine, Ravenna 34 and Salvi Mia due to budget limitations of upto £2500. I’m not very keen on second hand harps.
    I’m new to this forum but aware that there are so many posts with very useful information however I’m not sure of few aspects.
    How does fluorocarbon (Alliance) strings compare with nylon/ silkgut and gut? As I have practised in gut strings with my Clarsach, how is the transition to lower string tension & spacing with small hands?
    Also could someone share their experience with these models with different music genre?
    I’m from UK and may have the opportunity to try couple harp models this weekend while I’m travelling, so any help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you!

naisha
    Participant