column

Health Issues and Harp Playing

Home Forums Performing Health Issues and Harp Playing

Tagged: 

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    catherine-mcandrew
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I’ve been playing the harp for many years as an orchestral, chamber, and solo performer. I’m pretty young – still in university- so I wouldn’t say that my career is anything spectacular as of right now, but I’m working on building up my skills, repertoire, experiences, and contacts. For as long as I can remember, I’ve only, ever wanted to be a professional harpist. I truly love performing, and I obviously love the harp A LOT 🙂
    However, this past year, I was diagnosed with a chronic illness. I won’t go into too many details, but it mainly involves chronic nausea/vomiting, fatigue, and balance issues. I’ve tried to keep up with my normal life through this, but I can’t help but feel like my plans to be a harpist are over forever. I struggle through performances that last any longer than 5-10 minutes because I feel so ill. I can’t focus on how I’m playing when I’m performing because I’m trying my hardest to not throw up.
    I am so, so disappointed. . .I do have other skills, and there are (some) other career paths that I can follow with this illness, but I am having a very, very, very hard time giving up a performing career. I don’t think that I am physically able to pursue it any longer, but I feel so useless and saddened when I think of all the things I could accomplish had I not become ill.
    I’m sorry if this sounds like a long sob story with no point. I was just wondering if any of you have ever faced something like this, how you coped with it, and how you pursued harp in maybe a different direction. I am certainly NOT going to let this illness make me stop playing altogether 🙂 I am open to any and all advice as I’m at the end of my resources!
    Thank you so much!