harpcolumn

Harpists without piano background

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Amateur Harpists Harpists without piano background

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

I’m curious if you had trouble learning to read two clefs simultaneously with so many notes and using the left hand.I had wanted piano lessons as a child but my parents refused to send me for music lessons so I only started learning classical guitar at the ripe old age of 18(with my own savings).

I’m used to using my left hand for fingering the fingerboard (guitar and violin) and I’m strongly right-handed and I wonder if my left hand will be able to cope with plucking.I’m terrified by the idea of playing with both hands! Violin has not many notes to read as a melody instrument, guitar has more but at least it’s only in one clef.

On the bright side, the instrument will be pretuned and all…

Audrey Nickel
    Participant

I don’t have much piano background (and what I have was long ago…as in more than 30 years ago).

unknown-user
    Participant

Hi miso,

When I was younger my parents offered me a lot of different extracurricular activities, including piano and guitar lessons. I turned them down out of a painful case of shyness… to my everlasting regret! I have a good friend who has been playing piano for over 10 years and I continue to be impressed with his displays of ability. I feel your pain!

Anyway, the harp is my first instrument and when I started taking lessons I began with the book, “Fun from the First.” (As I suspect many people have over the years!) The lessons start out with simple one-handed melodies, and gradually work up to two-handed

Tacye
    Participant

Harp was the first time I had come across base clef and I only remember having a little trouble.