harpcolumn

harp teachers with newborn babies

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp harp teachers with newborn babies

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

I am a professional harp teacher, working out of my house and at the local university.

erin-wood
    Participant

Congratulations on your expectant arrival!

Connie Browning
    Participant

Calista,

Our daughter’s viola teacher has the same situation. Her baby is now nearly 3. She hired a baby-sitter for the hourse she taught. There were a couple of times that her baby-sitter-who was a high schooler-was unable to come. Those lessons, her teacher called and asked if I would like to cancel the lesson (reschedule or credit the fee to next month) or watch the baby. (I played with the baby) Her baby sitter was a student of hers. She also limited the hours that she would teach so she could get us all into 1-2 days. She also had make-up/extra lessons (competition, audition times) when her husband was home.

Good luck-hope this helped some

Connie

Thanks for the responses,

I have more than 40 students and really wouldn’t be willing to take too much time off or drop any students as there are not any other competent teachers within 1 1/2 hours drive.

unknown-user
    Participant