harpcolumn

Harp at friends’ weddings

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Forum Archives Professional Harpists Harp at friends’ weddings

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

Hi!

I’m a recent college graduate who has been playing harp for weddings and other events for some time now. I am at the age where quite a few of my friends are getting married (or will be in the next few years), and a lot of them have mentioned that they want to have me play for their weddings (no dates set yet, but they’ve just mentioned it for the future). So I’ve run into a bit of a predicament; playing for weddings is

Jerusha Amado
    Participant

I don’t play harp at weddings, but I can tell you that as a bride some 25 years ago I paid a friend of mine and her accompanist (vocal and guitar respectively) $300 for the ceremony, which was a lot of money back in those days.

harp guy
    Participant

I have been in the same position and will surely be there again (I’m about your age).

harp guy
    Participant

PS. I forgot to mention that in the one wedding that I played for free, I ended up getting some compensation anyway. It was the day of the wedding, and the Father of the Bride gave me a thankyou card from the bride, and inside was the last of their wedding budget: a small but meaningful portion of what I would have charged them.

carl-swanson
    Participant

If these people are really your friends, they will say, at the time that they ask you to play the wedding, that they insist on paying for this. If they ask you to play and don’t say anything about money, then my guess is that they think this is going to be a freebee, which is rude, insulting, and very presumptuous. So it’s then up to you to make it clear, in a diplomatic way, what your charges are and what, if anything you will discount or throw in for free.