harpcolumn

First-time buyer’s advice

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories First-time buyer’s advice

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Linika
    Participant

Hello HarpColumn!
    I’ve been thinking that the harp makes beautiful music for several years now and have decided that I want to learn how to play it. I have no real prior musical knowledge. I did play the cello for a bit when I was little, but not for very long. I know pretty much nothing about the harp.

I am currently enrolled at a demanding software engineering program and will be for a few years yet. So I won’t have too much time to practice and lessons are out of the question, so I doubt renting is a good option for me. I wouldn’t really get all that much value out of the money spent I think.

I’m into the medieval re-enactment movement and my dream is to one day be able to play well enough to accompany my singing friends during events. I’d probably mostly like to play folk and medieval pieces.

As a student my budget is very tight, I can put away about $50-$100 a month outside of the necessities. As such this probably mid-east harp is very tempting. I have however come to understand that it’s usually too good to be true?
    The site offers a full year guaranty on the build quality, so it feels like they need to have some confidence in their product right?

After reading on the forum I have also looked at the Harpsicle line. Including shipping to Sweden, the only ones I think I could afford would be the Harpsicle and maybe the Sharpsicle.