harpcolumn

First pedal harp – L&H, Pilgrim or Aoyama?

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories First pedal harp – L&H, Pilgrim or Aoyama?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    bunnyandco
    Participant

Hi all,

I am an UK-based amateur harpist new to this forum, and I need some advice re buying my first pedal harp!

A short background about myself: I started learning harp at school around 10 years ago but stopped about 5 years ago as I frequently relocate for study/work. I have recently settled down (at least for the next few years) so am now in a position to start playing again! I have always been learning with pedal, but have never owned one as I used to have good access to practice rooms.

I am working with a budget of ÂŁ15k, but can push it to no more than 20k for a L&H concert grand. I should add that I am a petite harpist and the harp probably will be played exclusively in my tiny living room. But ideally I would still like to have a harp with 46/47 strings and extended soundboard.

With these considerations above in mind, I am currently looking at the following models:
    L&H – Chicago Concertino/ CG Extended or Style 85E
    Pilgrim – The Malvern or The Aldeburgh
    Aoyama – Orpheus 47 or Vega 46 or Amphion 47