harpcolumn

First harp advise please!

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories First harp advise please!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 44 total)
  • Author
    Nat Shaw
    Participant

I’m excited to be buying a harp — for accompany

barbara-brundage
    Participant

>Perhaps bubinga?

I have no experience with either of the models you’re considering, but I just wanted to point out that while I’m a totally a bubinga kind of girl, it is about the heaviest of the possible woods, something to consider for healing type playing where you do a lot of lugging.

Karen Johns
    Participant

Have you taken a look at these? http://www.heartlandharps.com

They are ergonomically designed, and seem very portable and available in your choice of woods.

Personally, the Dragonheart is my dream harp, after having heard the tone.

Happy Hunting,

Karen

sherry-lenox
    Participant

I’ve never played a Christina, and they look very nice. I do have a Nightingale, in cherry, and it has the most lovely sound.

I believe I could safely say that the cherry Nightingale does have the sound you’re looking for. It’s also very nice looking.

I had the opportunity to speak to Jeff Lewis after I bought my second hand Nightingale, and he did say that the Camac levers add weight. They are larger than Truitts.

Good luck with your choice, and enjoy the journey!

Michaela Braveman
    Participant

Hi Nat,

I too own a cherry Nightingale and LOVE it! It has all you are looking for in a small harp: a beautiful rich tone, light weight and it is a beautifully crafted harp!