harpcolumn

Finger spans in 3- and 4-note chords

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Repertoire Finger spans in 3- and 4-note chords

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    William Rinatti
    Participant

Hello. I’m a composer learning to write for harp and I would like to know about the interval spans in 3- and 4-note chords.

The Stanley Choloupka book says a maximum stretch from 1 to 4 is an 11th, but other books say that it is a 10th.

Coloupka also says that in a 4-note chord, the lowest two notes can span a 5th, and in a 3-note chords the lowest to notes can span an octave.

Can anyone provide more detailed insight into this?

TIA

balfour-knight
    Participant

Harpists will have different opinions about this. It depends on how large the harpist’s hands are, and the spacing of the strings on a particular harp, since it is not entirely standard. Also, most chords are “rolled” on the harp, or “arpeggiated,” so it is like reaching those notes on a keyboard by rolling a chord, as opposed to a “blocked” chord.

If in doubt, post something here so we can try it out and see if it is a comfortable reach for most of us. Hope this helps.

Best regards,
    Balfour

William Rinatti
    Participant

Thank you very much.

Gregg Bailey
    Participant