harpcolumn

Fashion Sense

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Fashion Sense

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 62 total)
  • Author

I am having to do something as a harp teacher I was never trained for, and for which I don’t have the correct vocabulary. I find it is necessary to teach young teen students how to dress suitably for lessons, and for the harp in general, and it is hard for me to say how. The best I could come up with was business casual, Ann Taylor, Talbots, classic kind of stuff. Does a kid today even know what classic is? I found out the kind of shoe I remember is a pump. While we may be in another transitional phase regarding clothes, I believe a conservative, non-attention grabbing, simple, well-fitting elegance is the best. We want to show off the music and the person, not the clothes, and definitely not a fashion designer or store. (Speaking classically.) What do you suggest to your students?

Jessica Frost
    Participant

For more formal events, I’ve found that at least in the area where I’m living now, “church clothes” usually fits.

catherine-rogers
    Participant

There’s also the issue of skirts that are too short. Frankly, anything above the knee can be problematic when sitting at the harp, especially if playing onstage where the harpist is higher than the audience. Suddenly there’s more that meets the eye than is appropriate. Tea length usually solves the problem and isn’t long enough to trip over when moving the harp.

Yes, that is just what her mother said. Thank you for the term tea length. I presume that is about one-third down the calf, between midi and just below the knee.

I gather that pump means a low-heeled shoe like a small high-heel. What do you call loafers with one-inch heels or other shoes like that, is it block heels?