harpcolumn

Copyright Matters

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Coffee Break Copyright Matters

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    seika-dong
    Participant

Hi everyone, although my account is not new, this happens to be my first day in joining discussion at the forums. So hello, I’m Seika and I’m currently a freshman studying harp performance and business at IU.

Growing up in Silicon Valley has made me much interested in technology and as of recent, I would really like to develop a YouTube personality for my music. I have much admired those with already developed harp channels and inquired before about copyright, however find myself with no responses to my questions.

From what I understand, covers of copyrighted material and pieces not under the free domain are considered infringement if licenses are not purchased. The necessary licenses are then a mechanical for recording, and an additional sycnchronization for music recorded with video.

I suppose I don’t have specific questions yet but I was wondering if there is perhaps a publication of this issue that I could be redirected to for clarity on this matter? Or does anyone have any experience with their own YouTube channels? I would really appreciate more insight about this before I develop my own portfolio.

Thanks so much!

Sam Karlinski
    Participant

Hi Seika,
    As far as I know, if you’re concerned with classical music, as long as your performances and recordings are free and made public, then there is no copyright infringement. The issues arise when you try and make money, which only becomes a consideration on YouTube if you attempt to become a partner in order to make money off your channel. If you’re looking at pop music or anything else (and it sounds like you might be) the laws may be slightly different, and someone else will have to chime in.

Angela Biggs