harpcolumn

Computerized music notation

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Harps and Accessories Computerized music notation

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 35 total)
  • Author
    carl-swanson
    Participant

I’d like to know some things about computerized musical engraving. There must be articles about this someplace, and I would be very grateful to be pointed in that direction. I’ve never done it before, so I know nothing about the systems that are available or how to use them. So my questions are:

1) What are the best systems (for me, that means easiest to learn!) for computerized notation?
    2) How long does it take to learn how to use them?
    3) Do these systems allow you to put pedals and pedal diagrams? Bowing indications for string instruments? Phrasing lines? Also- and this is really important- do these systems have an autocorrect system that can be turned off? Auto correct on my computer drives me nuts, and I don’t want a music system “correcting” what I want to put down.
    4) How much do these systems cost? What kind of equipment do I have to have in order to make my own musical engravings?

I’m a MAC user. So I need something that can be used on a MAC.

carl-swanson
    Participant

I thought of another question. If you know how to use one of these computer programs for notating music, how much time does it take to do one page of music? Say something like a difficult classical piece.

catherine-rogers
    Participant

I use Finale but some people prefer Sibelius. They are both very good. There is a bit of a learning curve, but there is also a lot of good help on the internet, and Finale has an online manual (which is part of the program) that I consult when I don’t know how to do something. There may be classes available online; there are lots of online user groups for Q&A.