harpcolumn

Composition for harp (help needed)

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Composition for harp (help needed)

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

Hello!

I am Alexandros. I have just registered to this forum. Though I love the harp, I do not play the instrument. However, I am a composer and I love composing for the harp. I know that it is difficult (especially if you are not a harpist) to write a piece that it is actually playable and I was just wondering if you could give me your advice for a composition I’ve made. I will post the score and an mp3 file. Thank you in advance! 🙂

Pour la prĂŞtresse du temple de la lune (score)
    Pour la prĂŞtresse du temple de la lune (mp3)

carl-swanson
    Participant

Alexandros- I haven’t looked at your score yet. I will soon. But I wanted to warn you against composing for the harp on a keyboard, which I think is what a lot of composers and arrangers are doing now. What’s worse, they push the ‘harp’ button so that what they play makes harp-like sounds. But that does not produce something that can be played on the harp, or that resonates that well on the harp. The only way to write accurately for the harp-and I mean something that is not only playable but sounds good on the harp-is to work with a professional or very advanced harpist. Sketch out some ideas and then have the harpist look at it and play it. Does it sound the way you thought it would? Is what you wrote in the wrong register? Does it sound dry and brittle when you were expecting something resonant? Does it sound thin, or thick and muddy? All of these things can happen when you don’t work closely with a good harpist.

unknown-user
    Participant

Hello Carl!