harpcolumn

Composing for harp students

Log in to your Harp Column account to post or reply in the forums. If you don’t have an account yet, you’ll need to email us to set one up.

Home Forums Teaching the Harp Composing for harp students

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    unknown-user
    Participant

Hi all,

I am a composer who has a specific interest in writing repertoire for students. I have had two books of elementary-level piano pieces published, and have also recently completed similar collections for violin (I teach both instruments). I would like to explore the idea of writing for students of other instruments, including harp. I have a few questions before embarking on this project:

1. Is it best to write for lever harp? It seems that lever harp is more predominant among less advanced students, but please correct me if I���m wrong about this.
    2. Is there any particular reason that students choose to play the harp? Any particular music that they tend to enjoy?
    3. Do harp students tend to be male or female? Do they tend to be any particular age?
    4. Are there any special playing techniques that are especially useful or enjoyable for harp students?
    5. Harp teachers: what do you look for when choosing music for your elementary-level students?

I would be grateful for any knowledge that I could gain.

Cheers,

Christine

carl-swanson
    Participant

Christine- I’m going to give you the most important suggestion you need to write successfully for the harp.

unknown-user
    Participant

Carl,

Thank-you for your feedback. I intend to secure some harp lessons, and never compose at the piano unless I’m writing piano music, but the things that I could learn from a harp teacher are not the kinds of general things that I wanted to learn from posing questions on this forum. I seriously doubt that the questions I have posed here will be answered by taking harp lessons.

Christine

carl-swanson
    Participant